Meet the Finalists for the 2022 North American Hairstyling Awards


Get excited, salon pros! The 2022 North American Hairstyling Awards — aka the Oscars of Beauty — is almost here. Bringing together all sectors of the salon industry to honor the talent and creativity of our field’s top artists, NAHA is considered to be the most prestigious professional beauty competition in North America.

In advance of the actual ceremony, the Professional Beauty Association (the producer of NAHA), announced the 2022 finalists today during a presentation that was live-streamed via Facebook, in partnership with Schwarzkopf Professional. This year’s finalists span 14 creative and inspirational categories of hair, makeup, and education excellence.

“The 2022 North American Hairstyling Award finalists showcase excellence, creativity, and technical ability,” shares Nina Daily, PBA’s Executive Director. “Year after year, we continue to be amazed by the level of talent and elevated artistry shown by these artists.”

In order to be considered for a coveted NAHA award, each year, industry creatives submit their best work to be judged anonymously in three rounds by a panel of esteemed hairdressers, makeup artists, educators, and experts including, Serge Normant, Danilo, Sam Villa, Vernon Francois, Robert Ham, Antoinette Beenders, Kevin Murphy, Michael DeVellis, Kris Sorbie, Errol Douglas, Tabatha Coffey, Robert Lobetta, Tippi Shorter, and more.

While we will have to wait and see who’s names a NAHA winner when the ceremony officially kicks off at the Long Beach Convention Center Terrace Theater in Los Angeles on January 30th, for now, take some time to familiarize yourself with all the nominees.  

Ahead, see all the finalists for each category.

Avant Garde

  • David Barron
  • Kim Botner
  • Migena Furxhi
  • Reynaldo Achurra
  • Steven Robertson

Barber of the Year

  • Amanda Dassel
  • Ammon Carver
  • Kenny Duncan
  • Navin Ramgoolam
  • Tyler Kelbert

Editorial Stylist of the Year

  • Ashley Stewart Wright
  • Liza Espinoza Achurra
  • Matthew Morris
  • Rusty Phillips
  • Shirley Gordon

Educator of the Year

  • Candy Shaw
  • ElizabethFaye
  • Eric Fisher
  • John Mosley
  • Pekela Riley


  • Carlos Alvarez
  • Kylie Bussing
  • Lori Zabel
  • Sean Godard
  • Shaun Brezanin


  • Chris Baran
  • Chrystofer Benson
  • Dorothy Tsang
  • Michael Haase
  • Reno Prezio

Hairstylist of the Year

  • Ammon Carver
  • Cassie Carey
  • Chrystofer Benson
  • Nicole Pede
  • Robert Bushy

Inspiring Salon of the Year

  • Salon 27
  • Steller Kindness Project
  • Elle Marie Hair Studio
  • Rachel’s Salon & Day Spa
  • Oomph Salon

Makeup Artist of the Year

  • Amanda Stone
  • Ashley Zimel
  • Isidro Valencia
  • Jalia Pettis
  • Noel Mckinnon

Master Hairstylist of the Year

  • Chris Baran
  • Chrystofer Benson
  • Rodrigo Araneda
  • Ruth Roche
  • Tony Ricci

Student Hairstylist of the Year

  • Ali Talamantes
  • Danielle Gambino
  • Ravina Patel
  • Shantelle Gomez
  • Tyonna Stacker

Styling and Finishing 

  • Danielle Keasling
  • David Lopez
  • Glenn Nelson
  • Jamal Edmonds
  • Robin LaChance

Team of The Year

  • Ulta Beauty Pro Team
  • Ulta Beauty Design Team
  • The Des Moines Collectivvv
  • Quinn Enright & Michelle Oliver
  • Salon Deauville Team


  • Adrian Gutierrez
  • Dina Ducati
  • Jamal Edmonds
  • Lukas Press
  • Pekela Riley

Tickets are currently available for purchase on the NAHA website, with special pricing for Professional Beauty Association members. For more up-to-date information about the 2022 NAHA ceremony, be sure to follow @probeautyassoc on Instagram.

Sign up for your weekly dose of beauty and brains.

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Camille Nzengung

Camille Nzengung is a Features Editor at The Tease, where she covers all things hair. You can find her writing about the best hair products, the coolest hair trends, and all the exciting new hair launches. Send her a pitch:

More from Camille Nzengung


We’re a tease, but we always deliver.

Sign up for your weekly dose of beauty and brains.

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.