The PBA Announces NAHA 2020 Winners, Plus Other News

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

On January 25th, the 31st annual North American Hairstyling Awards took place in Long Beach, CA. NAHA honors hairstylists, makeup artists and the like for creating cutting-edge looks in the Professional Beauty industry. The night of fun includes a red-carpet reception rivaling anything seen in Hollywood or #NYFW, and presentations from the industry’s leading brands, like Aveda, Julie Vriesinga, Olivia Garden and Amika.

Chosen by the PBA, these winners have proven themselves to be the most talented in the industry.

Avant Garde: Rodrigo Araneda

Editorial/Session Stylist of the Year: Lucie Doughty

Haircolor: Chrystofer Benson

Haircutting: Yuki Yasui

Hairstylist of the Year: Silas Tsang

Makeup Artist of the Year: Katie Nash

Master Hairstylist of the Year: Julie Vriesinga

Men’s Hairstylist of the Year: Ammon Carver

Nail Professional of the Year: Cassandra Clark

View this post on Instagram

#naha2020 Embellished

A post shared by Sandy Clark (@myfreehandnails) on

NAHAMoment: Erica Keelen

Newcomer Stylist of the Year: Cassie Carey

Salon/School Design of the Year: Toni & Guy Galleria

Student Hairstylist of the Year: Dorothy Greene

Styling and Finishing: Michelle O’Connor

View this post on Instagram

NAHA photography: @roberto_ligresti_studio

A post shared by Michelle O’Connor ???????????? (@michelleoconnorbeauty) on

Team of the Year: Salon by Instyle Design Team

Texture: Norm Wright


Along with the winners, came amazing news for next year’s NAHA. For the first time ever, the PBA will be awarding the Educator of the Year. They will also start recognizing those who have excelled in creating a community in their salons with the Salon Culture award.

Another huge announcement made was that hairstylists now have the ability to enter NAHA even if they’ve participated in other competitions that year!